top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Meet My New Brother

Typewriter, that is!


We'd already established that I have an issue with analogue writing instruments. Unbenknownst to me, this would develop into a sudden desire to own a typewriter.


So this might have happened.



Oops.


Brother typewriters were common in their day, manufactured in large batches in Japan. For this reason, they are not as sought after as those from other brands, such as Hermes, and can be found quite cheaply on second hand websites in fairly good condition. While such websites can potentially be a dumping ground for broken goods, I got lucky and found this, a near mint Brother Deluxe 1500, mostly rust-free and no sticky keys.



But best of all, It Goes Ping. When you reach the end of a line, it makes the happiest little 'ping'you can imagine. And now I love it even more as it went 'ping' when I finished that word!



It does need a new ribbon, but the current one will do until the new one arrives this week. I'm definitely not typing like a typist and am currently punching out letters with my index fingers, which will very shortly be bare bone. I've probably woken up the neighbours with the sound of my typing, and fairly soon those within the immediate vicinity will be after me with pitchforks. It's all great fun!


I love how there's a skill to using this machine, unlike a Word document where you mostly tap letters mindlessly on to the screen. This has feedback, and if I don't concentrate hard enough my fingers will slip between the keys where they may or may not be injured if I don't focus harder. You can't deny that it's more thrilling than Microsoft Word!



Hopefully you wont mind the odd typewriter post among the usual stationery chatter. I can see my new Brother becoming a regular part of my writing routine!

354 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page