top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

My Creative (Writing) Process


Maybe not a process - more how writing is part of my morning routine some days!


All articles start off with coffee if written in the morning. No, bloggers don't wake up at 6AM in the morning bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and full of inspiration, ready to create thought-provoking musings on the stationery way of life. Not all of them anyway. I personally scramble blearily out of bed at a later hour unless I have a class at 9AM (in which case I'll flop out of bed even more blearily). Then I auto-pilot my morning routine as efficiently as possible so I can brew the steaming brown liquid of motivation. Steaming brown liquid fails to sound as appetising as it is when its constituent ingredients are fresh out of the coffee grinder.


After acquiring said motivation, I park myself at my desk. My desk is probably a mess from photographing a review item or practicing my drawing skills the night before. I tidy it. I park myself at it again. This is usually the point where I realise that I forgot to say good morning to Charlie and the cat in question plants himself on the floor, so he can scream at me at the top of his tiny lungs. I place him on my lap and stroke him with one hand whilst I use the other to get my notebook and a pen, or the laptop if I'm trying to be quick that morning. Charlie purrs and rubs his little face across my cheek before leaving me to my writing. Skipper peeps around the doorway but contents himself with sitting at the threshold.


Having appeased Charlie, I find ambient music on Spotify (lately I've been listening to piano music by Ludovico Einaudi - Una Mattina is my favourite of his albums).


Writing reviews is fairly simple. I just have to analyse the product, giving facts and my own opinion on it. I also point out any flaws. If I'm not writing a review I need inspiration, usually sourced from a blog such as the Gentleman Stationer or A Fleeting Ripple. Comments from classmates, poems and books I'm studying or reading for pleasure or just random thoughts can all provide the base for a post too. For Example, when I wrote my Everyday Carry post recently, I had been packing my backpack for college and whilst doing this I had recalled the Everyday Carry posts I've seen on other stationery blogs. In the world of blogging, we steal... erm, creatively redistribute? Yes, creatively distribute ideas.


Please do feel free to use my ideas. Sharing is caring. Just don't nick the actual content!


Speaking of creative redistribution, I always loved the way A Fleeting Ripple leaves Spotify links at the end of posts...


155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page