top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Review: Loclen Electa in Raw Brass

Carrying on with this year's theme of pocket pens, I'm reviewing the Electa from Loclen. I've grown to like brass pens more over the past year or so, and the unusual design and innovative filling mechanism intrigued me, so I couldn't wait to try out the Electa.



It arrived in a sturdy case protected by a black cardstock sleeve. The box has a carbon-

fibre-esque covering (is it actual carbon fibre? I'm not sure.) that feels nice and looks good. As you can see, it also attracts dust!



Inside, you find the pen along with some information about it. The inside of

the case is soft, ensuring that the pen is protected from any knocks and bumps

during transit.



I like the addition of the panel with the logo in the top of the box. Shiny!



The first thing you notice about the pen when you pick it up is how weighty it is. I'd say it is a bit lighter than my Wingback ballpoint pen, but only just. The weight is of course due to its all-brass construction, which lends the pen a weightiness not found in most other metals. If incorrectly balanced, this weight can quickly

fatigue the user's hand, but this pen feels perfectly balanced in my hand when

unposted.



You can screw the cap on the other end to post it if you want, a feature I always appreciate in pocket pens, but I think this shifts the balance a little too much towards the top of the pen for my small fingers. I think that those with a bigger hand would appreciate this more as the weight would be sitting in a better position.



I find the design very attractive, and it's the first pen with ink windows that I've owned. This is excluding the pens with transparent barrels, like my TWSBIs!



Filling mechanisms are usually fairly consistent between brands (cartridge,

converter, plunger etc.) and while this is a converter filler it has useful little knurled knob in-built so you don't have to take the pen apart in order to fill it. You simply twist it in the way you would normally twist the converter. It is somewhat similar to a TWSBI in that it has the knob at the top for filling, but the Electa mechanism is built into a brass casing so it doesn't poke out of the top of the pen. It looks sleek and I like it!



The mechanism works smoothly and operates the Schmidt converter inside perfectly. No more removing the barrel to fill the pen! Which is lucky, because disassembly is tough unless you have strong fingers. I think I was only able to prise it off because of the finger strength I've gained from playing my guitars.




As noted in the disassembly instructions, you can use a piece of foam to help you slide the pieces apart if you're having difficulty, though I doubt there'll really be any need to take it apart since the converter can be operated with the knob.


My Electa came equipped with a Schmidt broad nib and writes beautifully. It produces a crisp, clean line, and looks like it'll show off shimmer and sheen well. Unfortunately I didn't think to fill it with an ink that had either of these properties! My mistake...



The section isn't contoured at all and is made of smooth, polished brass like the

rest of the pen. While this is comfortable to hold and to write with for me, I think the comfort factor could be further improved by a slight inward contour or some kind of subtle texture to prevent fingers slipping down to the nib during longer writing sessions (that section is only going to get slippier with use).

It'd only be a slight adjustment, but I think that users would appreciate it.


Another part of the pen that could benefit from a redesign is the clip. It's so stiff! I haven't managed to clip it on to anything thus far because it does not want to move. I can just about bend it with a thumbnail but I worry about bending my nail when I do that. The design is nice, with its subtle branding and

golden shininess, but the clip is currently unusable for me. Perhaps it could be made out of a different, more springy metal?



There's also a bit of a jagged edge on the bottom of the clip, but I assume this is a small flaw from the handmaking process. Since it's inconspicuous and doesn't bother me when I use it.



Like all brass, the pen will tarnish over time so use a cloth and some brass cleaner or any other suitable metal polishing product to return it to all its shiny glory. If you like the aged appearance, just leave it as is!


To end this all on a more cheerful note than the pretty but immovable clip, the engraving is lovely! The minimalistic serif font looks great and I particularly appreciate that Loclen remebered the accent in my name. You'd be surprised at how frequently people forget the accent in my name or even worse- spell it 'Chole'.


Yes, Chole.


Whether this is done by accident or on purpose I've never been able to tell,

but the inclusion of the accent and correct spelling is appreciated! The engraving

is done very well and all the letter are consistent and clear to read. It's also positioned nicely.



Are there some things that could be worked on? I'd say so, but overall this is brilliant writing instrument and if you want a brass pen that stands out from others on the market, I don't think you'll be disappointed!




Disclaimer: This product was provided by Loclen for review purposes. All opinions expressed in this article are my own.

254 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page