top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

Spring Is Broken

The weary writer pokes her head out from under the duvet and peers around the corner of the blinds. It appears to be all white.


This is unusual. She rubs the sleep out of her eyes and tries again. The rest of the world stays stubbornly whitewashed. The rooftops are the exact same shade of snow as the sky and it's difficult to see where they end and the clouds begin - the chimneys, free of snow, look like they are floating in a bright frozen mist.


The writer's phone buzzes merrily several times as she receives emails, messages and Whatsapps all informing her that college is closed for the day due to dangerous levels of snow. Clearly, Northern buses aren't quite equipped for sudden overnight blizzards and the snow is so thick that even the grit trucks would have trouble restoring to roads to a drivable condition.


The writer feels annoyed at having got out of bed at seven, but sees that alarmingly, KraftyCats has been idle for over a fortnight. Oops.


In my defense we had exams!


But seeing as Spring is clearly broken and has reverted back to an earlier version of Winter, I have had time to write up this post as I don't think I, or anyone else in town for that matter, is going to be going anywhere today. However, due to the Wonder Of Technology, there's still work to do and as I'm at home... I get to use all the pretty stationery! Working at home does have its advantages - I get to work at my own pace, with my music and I have access to all the stationery that I can't carry to college (or that wouldn't be convenient to use). I've already mentioned in previous posts how I can't really use fountain pens there for fear of losing them and/ or the ink smudging because I write so quickly, Also, the paper used for handouts is usually not suitable for most fountain pen inks so a ballpoint has to be used. Fountain pen ink also isn't great if you want to go over your work with a highlighter, and my average annotated piece of work looks like somebody has assaulted it with a rainbow. I didn't spend £15 on Sharpie S-Pens to have bland work. Colour code all the things!


Anyway, the snow day means that I get to use a stub nib pen with a fancy ink and enjoy the writing process as I can take my time. Maybe a frosty blue ink in honour of the occasion?



42 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page