top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

The Christmas Penstravaganza

Because when fountain pen collectors meet other fountain pen collectors, crazy things start happening.


I've only been collecting them for a year, but in that year I've met some pretty awesome people. Like a friend in the US, who sent me a mysterious box with strict instructions not to open it before Christmas.


And so, I really can't be blamed for adding over 14 vintage pens to my collection, because I didn't know I was doing so until I opened the aforementioned box!


They aren't just any fountain pens. They are beautiful Sheaffers, Parker Duofolds, Wahl Eversharps, and almost all of them are from between 1920 and 1945.


Yes, I have spammed my friend with approximately 100 'thank you' messages and several pictures (which aren't good enough quality to post here but I'll be sure to take more to post). I think I'm even more delighted than she thought I'd be!


I am going to write posts for each pen individually, but obviously, that is going to take some time. I have been polishing and inking all the pens, and I have only found a few that need repairing. Given their age, a damaged pressure bar or a perished ink sac really isn't all that surprising. The surprising thing is that after all this time, the others function perfectly! I've never replaced an ink sac or other parts of a vintage fountain pen, but I have read countless articles on how to do this, and with the right tools I am relatively sure I can do it. There is a simple set of rules.


Don't get the barrel too hot, or it sets on fire. Don't get the ink sac too hot, or it sets on fire.

Don't get residual ink too hot, or it sets on fire.


They liked their fountain pens flammable in the 30s.


One guy almost burnt his house down restoring one! I probably won't hold mine that close to the hair dryer. I've always been fond of my eyebrows.


I am extremely excited and grateful for this amazing opportunity. Vintage pens have fascinated me since I recieved my first one, my Conway Stewart from the 50s. Many function better than their modern counterparts, having been designed to last a lifetime. Even the ink in the early to mid 20th century was designed to clean the pen!


The first pen I will be blogging about will be a Parker Duofold with a stub nib. It looks like we're in for a few ineteresting weeks here at KraftyCats!


(The header picture is a fraction of my total number of pens. I'll be taking a better picture of them all soon!)


(Also, gold fountain pens in a purple Galen Leather case. You Can Not get a better combo than this!)

44 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page