top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

My Everyday Carry Items

Previous to starting my A-level studies I had no real need to take any of my stationery out of the house. Now I go to college five days a week there are some essentials that I always take with me.


  1. Doughnut Backpack

Because I'm a stationery snob, I just couldn't settle for the J.D. Sports rucksacks that other students chuck their stuff in. Seeing as I was starting college in September and my birthday is in August, I went in search of a good backpack and the Pen Addict archives presented me with this:



It had good reviews and I loved the green bag, so I asked my parents if they could buy it as a birthday gift. My wish was granted! It has served me well for some months now.


2. Pencil Case


Not a posh brand, simply bought off Amazon but does the job well. It has a front pocket, an inner mesh pocket, a middle flap with pen loops and a back compartment that can be zipped or unzipped on the outside to make it larger or smaller. It's sturdy, durable and has good capacity. It has a few pencil marks on it, but has held up well overall!




I was amused to find that a classmate has the exact same pencil case - clearly, then, she also has impeccable taste!


3. Fineliners


Because ballpoints Always Run Out, I use Staedtler and Stabilo fineliners for my notes, as they have the bonus of being colourful (I don't take them all, I just pick out my favourite colours). Also, a fineliner with a very fine tip can be used to write in small margins because as a Literature student, I am forced to write in books that are MEANT TO BE USED FOR READING!!! I've got used it now. It's easier after you've wrecked the first few pages.



4. Cornell Ruled Notebooks


I need to make notes quickly in class, and having one ordinary notebook for all three was making it too confusing. As a result, I bought three Cornell ruled notebooks, £3 each, one for each subject. While the paper could be better quality as ink does tend to bleed through a bit, my notes are clear and organised, and ready to be made into flashcards. I can't really argue with the price and the covers are very pretty!



5. Flashcard Folders


I felt like my life was complete when I found these adorable little baby folders for my flashcards. Never again will I lose Grice's Maxims amongst reams of Gothic Archetypes and Media theorists.


6. Clear Plastic Folders


Lever-arch folders are very bulky and not convenient as an EDC item, so I use clear plastic wallets to keep homework and notebooks in, and transfer papers into a big lever-arch at homewhen I've finished using them in class.



I don't tend to use fountain pens at college as A. I can't find an ink that dries quickly enough to not smudge when I'm taking notes and B. I'm terrified of losing one. I don't like using fineliners so I'm currently using a Caran D' Ache ballpoint that still has a working refill in it (even though it's blue and I prefer black). Every refill I buy runs out after just a few days of use, and I haven't been able to find a good solution to the problem yet. Any suggestions welcome!







838 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page