top of page
  • Writer's pictureKraftyChloé

On The Differences Between Grips

Any stationery enthusiast will know that there are a lot of different types of pen grip. Even among cheap disposable pens, there are variations - some have a ridged rubber grip, perhaps contoured, and some are bare. There can be small grippy dots or squares, a special coating...


It's the same for higher-end writing instruments too. Grip styles can vary wildly between brands and type of pens. For example, a metal ballpoint will often have a cylindrical knurled grip, which tend to be a universally comfortable design. You rarely see fountain pens with knurled grips (or at least, I don't), and they are usually contoured inwards before flaring out. These are my favourite sections! Plain cylindrical sections can also be okay, but I find that they get a bit uncomfortable after longer periods of writing.


Some sections force you to grip a particular way, such as the Lamy Safari, I grip my pen this way - pinky and ring finger curled up, middle, index and thumb gripping the pen. I'm not sure if it's a normal grip or not, but it does make pens such as the Pilot Vanishing Point a bit tricky to use due to The Clip Of Controversy. As a result, I'm trying to learn to write with pinky, ring and middle finger curled up, with the index and thumb holding it in place, the writing style that the Lamy demands due its specially contoured section. Luckily, the Lamy is making this style easier for me because my fingers fit into it perfectly.


And as for the Vanishing Point, as much as I love it, I do wonder why Pilot don't make the clip removable, as it would surely increase sales?


Unusual clip placement aside, I think it's a good thing that there are so many section designs on the market because you are almost guaranteed to find one that suits your style. Even if you are a lefty, there are specially designed pens out there for you (thouugh I do hope that more companies manufacture left-handed pens to make writing easier for my lefty friends - and super-quick drying ink would also be great)!


What is your favourite section design?

301 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page